CQUniversity educators recognised for national teaching excellence

25 February 2021

Three educators from CQUniversity Australia have been recognised in the prestigious Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT).

The Awards celebrate outstanding achievements in university teaching and nominations are assessed by an independent panel of expert academics from across the higher education sector.

The successful award recipients from CQUniversity are Professor Michael Cowling (Award for Teaching Excellence) and Dr Ashley Holmes and Dr Ramadas Narayanan (Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning).

A Brisbane-based Information and Communication Technology expert' Professor Cowling's Award for Teaching Excellence in the category of physical sciences and related studies.

The accolade recognised his demonstrated excellence' leadership and sustained commitment to teaching and learning in higher education.

Professor Cowling's Queensland Government workshop series 'Weaving Technology into the Fabric of the Classroom' has trained hundreds of educators in the use of innovative technology. Additionally' as part of his CSIRO-supported 'Professor Tech' program' he has presented to students across K-12 schools.

With the mantra 'pedagogy before technology'' Professor Cowling is committed to technology as a driver to enhance the student educational experience.

His own higher education students' as well as hundreds of school teachers' and tens of thousands of students from kindergarten through to doctoral level have learned directly and indirectly from Professor Cowling.

Professor Cowling is also a highly regarded technology and science communicator' writing articles and appearing on radio and television to discuss the impact of technology on education and daily life.

This is the second year in a row that a CQUniversity learning and teaching specialist has been recognised with an Award for Teaching Excellence' with Professor Kate Ames honoured in 2020 for her commitment to ensuring distance and online learners are 'central to the classroom'.

Mackay-based Digital Media specialist Dr Holmes and Bundaberg-based Mechanical Engineering lecturer Dr Narayanan both received for citations for outstanding contributions to student learning. Citations are awarded to those educators who have contributed to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

CQUniversity's Vice-President' Academic' Professor Helen Huntly congratulated her colleagues on their achievements and noted that their recognition was well-deserved.

"I am delighted to see Professor Cowling' Dr Holmes and Dr Narayanan recognised with these awards.

"Receiving one of these prestigious teaching awards represents national recognition of the commitment and dedication each has shown to their respective disciplines and their students' over several years.

"These experts set a benchmark when it comes to sharing their knowledge and expertise with students' and providing innovative and engaging learning environments that cultivate successful and enriching student learning.

"I applaud their efforts and thank them for their continued contribution to CQUniversity and our students'" Professor Huntly said.

The AAUT were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching. Since then' the Awards have become a valued form of recognition for university educators Australia wide.

The 2020 AAUT were announced virtually on Wednesday' 24 February 2021.