CQUni lauded for leadership in work health and safety

Published:09 October 2019

Minister Grace Grace (pink top) with L-R Queensland Safety Ambassador Shane Webcke and CQUni health and safety team members Darryl Purdie, David Holmes, Kelly Jorgensen, Trent Hoare and Sean Peckover.

CQUniversity has won two major categories at Queensland’s 2019 Safe Work and Return to Work Awards, announced in Brisbane on Wednesday (9 October).

Industrial Relations Minister Grace Grace was joined by Queensland Safety Ambassador Shane Webcke at the Royal International Convention Centre to announce 12 winners across 11 categories.

CQUniversity was announced as winner of the Best demonstrated leadership in work health and safety category and Best Commitment to Work Health & Wellbeing category.

“These organisations and individuals are doing great things for Queensland when it comes to work health and safety, rehabilitation and return to work," Minister Grace said.

“Clearly, they are champions and we are not only keen to celebrate their outstanding efforts, but also share their stories and ideas to help others.

"“Congratulations to all award winners who hail from all parts of the state such as Mackay, Rockhampton, Hervey Bay and Townsville."

CQUni's National Safety and Training Manager Sean Peckover says there's been a lot of work over the past decade to raise the bar for health and safety across all campuses.

"It's really been the commitment from the University Executive to ensure health and safety stays in front of mind to allow us to do our work effectively," Mr Peckover says.

"From that commitment, it allows the health and safety team to execute our strategies.

"We are also blessed to have access to expertise within our own CQUni team of health and safety academics. We are good at true consultation and asking the experts for input."