Gliddon named MVP of CQUni Taipans

Published:17 February 2016

TOP L-R: Shaun Bruce (Coaches' Award); Mark Worthington (Best Defensive Player); Torrey Craig (Members' Choice Award); Cameron Gliddon (MVP); Steve O'Malley (Club Person of the Year). BELOW: CQUni VC Professor Scott Bowman (right) took part in the ceremony.

Cameron Gliddon became the third man to be twice named CQUniversity Cairns Taipans club Most Valuable Player at the Red’s Salon Hollywood Nights Dinner last Friday night.

Gliddon also claimed the honour back in 2014, joining Jamar Wilson (2012, 2013) and Martin Cattalini (2006, 2007, 2009) as the only Taipans to win the award more than once.

He led the Taipans in scoring with 13.5 points per game (46 per cent) in 2015-16, and was the team’s best shooter from outside (38.9 per cent) and at the charity stripe (87.5 per cent).

Gliddon took the honour ahead of finalists Mark Worthington and Markel Starks.

Worthington did not leave empty-handed though, claiming the coveted Defensive Player of the Year trophy after leading the Taipans with 1.1 steals and ranking second in defensive rebounds and blocked shots, not to mention scores of key defensive deflections and charges taken.

Shaun Bruce was winner of the Coaches’ Award for his standout performances this year, in particular his form during the injury absence of starting point guard Markel Starks.

Stephen Weigh was awarded the Commitment to Community Award for his ongoing work in the Taipans’ community engagement programmes, which totalled more than 1000 hours during 2015/16.

Complete Winners’ List: 
Club person of the year: Steve O’Malley
Commitment to Community Award: Stephen Weigh
Players’ player award: Shaun Bruce
Coaches’ Award: Shaun Bruce
Members’ Choice Award: Torrey Craig
Best Defensive Player: Mark Worthington
Most Valuable Player: Cameron Gliddon


Loading the player ...