Through the ongoing support of the Federal Government's Higher Education Participation and Partnership Program (HEPPP), CQU is committed to increasing the participation of students from low socioeconomic, regional and remote and Indigenous students in higher education. CQU has widening participation programs for both school students and adult learners. CQUni Connect is the school outreach program.

CQU partners with numerous primary and high schools to deliver programs that raise aspirations towards higher education and empower students to apply and successfully transition from high school to university or TAFE with a sense of belonging and confidence. The programs are supported by peer role models (current students), practitioners (CQU Connect staff), teaching and academic staff, and researchers.


Year 6 – Who Am I?

Students are introduced to the concept of careers by identifying and connecting their interests, strengths and aspirations with potential career paths. This program is delivered at our partner schools and takes 90 minutes.

Year 7 – Self Awareness

This program focuses on the individual, with students encouraged to consider and express their dreams for the future and identify their strengths and passions. In the process of self-discovery, they will explore their value and the concept of resilience. This three-part program of 60 minutes for each module is delivered at our partner schools.

Year 8 – Occupation Awareness

This program explores career profiles. Participants explore current and future occupations and identify the skills and capabilities of the future workforce. They are encouraged to start exploring the journey to their future careers. This program involves three sixty-minute modules and is delivered at our partner schools.

Year 9 – Navigating Pathways

The focus returns to the individual, with students exploring the opportunities and challenges they may face on their journey towards their career of choice. They build success-oriented mindsets and explore how they can achieve their hopes and aspirations for the future. This is a school-based program with three sixty-minute modules.

Year 10 - Campus Connect

CQU invites our connect partner schools to visit their local CQU campus and engage in activities with academic, teaching and professional staff.

Year 11 – Future Ready

The focus moves to post-school options, with students introduced to study options at University and TAFE and developing an understanding of available qualifications and career outcomes. This program shares tips on what year 11 students can do now to make themselves future-ready. This program is delivered at our partner schools and involves three sixty-minute modules.

Year 12 – The Next Step

Completion of year 12 is decision time and this program of three sixty-minute modules encourages students to explore the challenges they may face as they prepare to take the next step after school. They will discuss their expectations of finishing school and the post-school reality of money, jobs, study and the opportunities for work and study that await them.

CQU Connect Indigenous programs encourage, inspire and support First Nations school students to pursue career pathways through TAFE and university study. This is achieved by developing strong partnerships with students, schools, families and communities. This program is available in Cairns, Mackay, Rockhampton and Bundaberg.

CQU is a Queensland Widening Participation Consortium member with all eight public Queensland institutions. CQUni Connect partners with high schools and primary schools in Central Queensland, southern Cairns and the Tablelands regions.

CQU Connect Partners with the below schools. If your school has any questions about any of our programs please contact us via email at

Bundaberg Schools

  • Bundaberg North State High School
  • Bundaberg State High School
  • Gin Gin State High School
  • Isis District State High School
  • Kepnock State High School
  • Rosedale State School

Burnett Schools

  • Biggenden State School
  • Burnett State College
  • Eidsvold State School
  • Monto State High School
  • Mundubbera State School

Cairns and Far North Queensland

  • Atherton State High School
  • Babinda State School
  • Bentley Park State High School
  • Djarragun College
  • Gordonvale State High School
  • Innisfail State High School
  • Malanda State High School
  • Woree State High School

Central West Schools

  • Aramac State School
  • Alpha State School
  • Barcaldine State School
  • Blackall State School
  • Charleville School of Distance Education
  • Longreach State High School
  • Longreach School of Distance Education
  • Springsure State School
  • Tambo State School
  • Winton State School

Callide Schools

  • Baralaba State School
  • Biloela State High School
  • Moura State High School
  • Theodore State School
  • Taroom State School

Gladstone and District Schools

  • Miriam Vale State School
  • Mount Larcom State School

Mackay and District Schools

  • Calen District State College
  • Glenden State School
  • Mackay State High School
  • Mackay North State High School
  • Pioneer State High School
  • Sarina State High School

Rockhampton Schools

  • Glenmore State High School
  • Capricornia School of Distance Education
  • Mount Morgan State High School
  • North Rockhampton State High School
  • Rockhampton State High School
  • Yeppoon State High School