Contributions to community earn accolades for CQU staff, students and alumni

27 January 2023

CQUniversity is proud of the inspiring staff' students and alumni who have gone above and beyond in their respective fields' making contributions to Australian communities' industries and the public.

Yesterday' five people with close connections to CQUniversity were recognised in the 2023 Honours List.

Nicole 'Nikki' Griffiths OAM

A passion for giving back to the community and help business owners achieve success has resulted in Nikki Griffiths being nationally recognised for her dedication.

The Busselton-based business adviser and CQUniversity student was honoured with a Medal of the Order of Australia for her service to local business and the community.

Craig Foster AM

CQUniversity Bachelor of Laws graduate' Craig Foster AM was a finalist in the 2023 Australian of the Year Awards after being named NSW Australian of the Year.

As Chair of the Australian Republic Movement' Craig is a passionate activist for human rights and anti-racism. He is also a former Subway Socceroos and current sports commentator.

Professor Kerry Walsh AM

Rockhampton-based researcher' Professor Kerry Walsh was appointed as a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia (General Division) for significant service to horticultural science and tertiary education.

The award highlights the significance of his work with fruit growers' horticultural industry bodies and technology solution providers to develop technologies that can help farmers improve their yields and potentially automate on-farm processes.

Craig Limkin PSM

Bachelor of Accounting alumnus' Craig Limkin was awarded a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Craig is the Deputy Secretary (Policy and Intergovernmental Relations) leading a team providing impartial and high quality advice to the Premier and Cabinet on matters of state and national significance.

Scott Williams AO

Current CQUniCares major donor' Scott Williams received an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to business' to tertiary education' and through philanthropic contributions.

Andrew Penn AO

Andrew Penn received an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to business' to charitable organisations' to youth' and to the arts.

The former Telstra Corporation Limited CEO was a proud supporter of CQUniversity's research and innovation in agriculture.

The 2023 Honours List celebrated 1'047 recipients' including 736 in the General Division of the Order of Australia and awards for meritorious' distinguished and conspicuous service.

The complete Australia Day 2023 Honours List is available on the Governor-General's website.

An additional five individuals were also celebrated at local events around Australia.

Nadia Cowperthwaite

Current Master of Research student' Nadia Cowperthwaite won the Spirit of Mount Isa Award for her volunteer work at several local organisations.

Nadia is the president of the Mount Isa Tourism Association' an organiser of the Mount Isa Motor Show' secretary for the Underground Hospital and Vice-President of the Mount Isa Community Markets.

Dr Bob Newby

Entomologist Dr Bob Newby received a Certificate of Commendation for Community Service at Rockhampton Regional Council awards.

The Adjunct Research Fellow at CQUniversity was recognised for his initiative in establishing the native plant arboretum. The arboretum will provide an invaluable legacy for future generations and an excellent botanical and ecological resource for the community.

Sasha Job

Lecturer in neurological physiotherapy and accessibility advocate' Sasha Job was nominated for the Citizen of the Year Award' run by Bundaberg Regional Council.

The nomination highlighted the researcher's contributions to the Bundaberg Region through her Universal Beach Access Hub (U-BEACH) project' an initiative to help break down the barriers of beach access for people living with a disability.

Shakir Karim

CQU School of Engineering and Technology teacher and alumnus' Shakir Karim was nominated for the City of Canterbury Bankstown's Citizen of the Year award.

Shakir' who is originally from Bangladesh' was acknowledged for volunteering his time and expertise to assist local and international Information Technology (IT) students in Canterbury Bankstown.

Sergeant Nigel Dalton

Companion of the University' Sergeant Nigel Dalton was named as Mackay's Citizen of the Year Award for his role as the Police District Crime Prevention Coordinator as well as being an active community volunteer.

He has implemented a strong education plan for students of all ages' working extensively with the CQUniversity's Central Queensland Conservatorium of Music (CQCM) to produce two award-winning applied theatre projects.

Brenda Windsor

CQU employee Brenda Windsor was honoured with the Senior Sports Award in the 2023 Mackay Regional Council Australia Day Awards.

Brenda has dedicated countless hours and kilometres to raise money and shine a spotlight on the child protection work that Bravehearts do. She has run their 777 twice and intends on doing it again in 2023. The 777 involves running seven marathons' in seven states' over seven consecutive days. Each time she has had to raise $10k to be able to participate and in doing so has held numerous raffles. Brenda even ran 77.7km (from Koumala to Mackay) to raise funds.