Secondary navigation

Key dates

Key dates

These key dates are applicable to undergraduate and postgraduate coursework students. Please note that dates may change. We recommend you check back for the latest information or contact the University.

Class commencement

2017 Term 1 - Monday, 6 March

2017 Term 2 - Monday, 10 July

2017 Term 3 - Monday, 6 November

Recommended arrival

We advise students to be in Australia two to three weeks before classes commence. This is to ensure there is sufficient time to arrange your long-term accommodation on arrival.

2017 Term 1 - Monday, 13 February 

2017 Term 2 - Monday, 19 June

2017 Term 3 - Monday, 16 October

Enrolment

Enrolment is usually open two weeks before classes start, Monday to Friday from 9 am onwards. During enrolment, you will select units associated with your course of study and officially enrol in those units. If you are a new student, you must enrol on campus prior to attending orientation. We encourage you to enrol early so you can attend orientation and settle down.

Enrolment in each term will open from the following dates:

2017 Term 1 - Monday, 20 February

2017 Term 2 - Monday, 26 June

2017 Term 3 - Monday, 23 October

Orientation

Orientation is usually scheduled the week before classes commence. Please note these dates may change.

Orientation in each term for Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney is as follows:

2017 Term 1 - Orientation will be held on two days as per below:

  • Thursday, 2 March: School of Business and Law; School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Futures; School of Education and the Arts
  • Friday, 3 March: School of Engineering and Technology; School of Access Education; School of Medical and Applied Sciences

2017 Term 2 - Thursday, 6 July

2017 Term 3 - Thursday, 2 November

Orientation for Bundaberg, Gladstone, Mackay, Noosa, Rockhampton and Townsville is as follows:

2017 Term 1 - Monday, 27 February to Friday, 3 March inclusive

2017 Term 2 - Monday, 3 July to Friday, 7 July inclusive

Last day to drop units

The last day in each term you are permitted to drop units and complete your enrolment without academic penalty is listed below. You will not be able to enrol after these dates.

2017 Term 1 - Tuesday, 28 March

2017 Term 2 - Tuesday, 1 August

2017 Term 3 - Tuesday, 28 November

For more information on key dates, please refer to our Academic Calendars. For key dates for each campus, please visit the Arrival and Welcome section of the website.