Creative excellence sets stage for Alumni award

Published: 18 January 2019

Wayne Blair
Wayne Blair is the 2019 recipient of the Alumnus of the Year - Industry Achievement award.

Wayne Blair (BBus, 1994) has been commended for his significant contribution to the Australian film and performing arts.

The graduate from CQUniversity's Bachelor of Business is a deserving winner of the 2019 Alumnus of the Year – Industry Excellence award.

“As one of Australia’s leading stage and screen professionals, Wayne’s contributions to the film and television industry have been extensive. A multi-award-winning theatre, film and television actor, writer and director, there are few if any areas in the industry he has not excelled at," says CQUniversity Alumni Relations and Advancement Manager, Anthea Cuddihy.

"His long list of credits - including the 2018 series Mystery Road, the 2017 remake of Dirty Dancing, the awarding-winning movie The Sapphires and award-winning TV show Redfern Now – speak for themselves, highlighting Wayne’s talent and expertise.

"Last year, his significant body of work was featured in Screen Australia’s 25th Anniversary of Indigenous Screen Stories, recognising Wayne as a leader in his field.”

Wayne’s directorial projects The God’s of Wheat Street and Cleverman were recently included on the Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority’s list of prescribed texts for Senior English and Literature.

Mr Blair has also won numerous awards and achieved national recognition with fellowships from Screen Australia, the Australian Film, Television and Radio School and the Sydney Theatre Company.

He won an Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Award (AACTA) for Best Director for the 2012 movie The Sapphires and most recently won an AACTA for Best Supporting Actor for Mystery Road.

Wayne's last directorial work, Top End Wedding, had a historic debut this week at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival.

Mr Blair's contribution to the Arts was also recognised when he was awarded a CQUniversity Honorary Doctorate of the Arts in 2013.