CQU academics recognised in national excellence awards

23 February 2022

Several educators from CQUniversity Australia have been recognised with national learning and teaching awards as part of the Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT).

Occupational Health and Safety lecturer Dr Elise Crawford' Education expert Dr Robert Vanderburg' Head of Course for CQUniversity's new Bachelor of Medical Science (Pathway to Medicine) Dr Sonia Saluja' and the CQUniversity Physiotherapy teaching team have each received citations for outstanding contributions to student learning as part of the 2022 awards.

  • Dr Elise Crawford was cited for creating innovative industry-immersive learning environments for safety students to engage in authentic assessment.
  • Dr Sonia Saluja was recognised for developing innovative discipline-specific assessment strategies contextualised for the career paths of health students.
  • Dr Robert Vanderburg was recognised for creating and implementing an online literacy and numeracy curriculum based on resilience strategies for education students.
  • The CQUniversity physiotherapy teaching team was cited for their transformative approach to physiotherapy simulation that streamlines a student's transition from the classroom to clinical practice and improves self-confidence.

The Citations recognise and reward the diversity of contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning in Australian universities and are awarded to individuals or teams who have contributed to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

CQUniversity's Vice-President (Academic)' Professor Helen Huntly commended her colleagues and said that she was proud that CQUniversity has been well represented in the awards over several years.

"CQUniversity has been well represented in these awards over several years' with our exceptional educators receiving citations or Australian learning and teaching awards that are specific to their disciplines.

"This has been one of our most successful years in these prestigious awards with 11 staff members (three individual and eight as part of a team) recognised for their exemplary contribution to enhancing the learning experience of our CQUniversity students.

"Receiving one of these national teaching awards represents the highest level of recognition of the sustained commitment and dedication each has shown to their students and their respective disciplines'" said Professor Helen Huntly

"These experts set a benchmark when it comes to sharing their knowledge and expertise with students providing innovative and engaging learning environments that cultivate successful and enriching student learning.

"I applaud their efforts and thank them for their continued contribution to CQUniversity and our students'" Professor Huntly said.

The AAUT recognise the impact that educators have on the learning and teaching experiences and outcomes of university students. They celebrate and reward programs and practices that support students and enhance learning. They promote excellence in learning and teaching in all aspects of higher education. Recipients' with the support of their institutions' contribute to systemic change in learning and teaching through the ongoing sharing and dissemination of knowledge.

Nominations for the annual awards are assessed by an independent panel of expert academics from across the higher education sector.