Secondary navigation

5 Minute Research Pitch (5RP)

In 2017, the National Final will be hosted by Central Queensland University at the Melbourne Campus on Tuesday 21 November commencing at 10.30am (AEDT).

In 2017 the participating Universities are:

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Central Queensland University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Southern Cross University
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Tasmania
  • Victoria University

Prize Money (to be provided by each winner’s University):
Overall winner:  $3,000
Discipline Winner:  $1,500
Discipline Second place:  $750
Discipline Third place:  $500

The presentation that receives the largest number of votes from the audience will be awarded the People’s Choice Award – an eight-book pack and online coaching program from Thinkwell, the premier provider of productivity services (workshops, coaching and books) to researchers in Australia.

Livestreaming of 5RP National Final

The 5RP National Final will be available to watch via livestreaming at:

Viewers will be able vote for the People’s Choice Award by sending an email with the name of the person of their choice to:

Voting opens at 10.30am and closes at 1.00pm (AEDT)

Hashtags for the Event #5RP and #CQUni

Group Categories for 5RP

  • Group One - Science & Health
  • Group Two - Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Group 1 Presentations – Science & Health

1.  Dr Katherine Kent, University of Tasmania   “Flavonoid –Rich Food for Thought”
2.  Dr Paul Larkin, Victoria University  “Right Place, Right Time, with the Right Eye Watching”
3.  Dr Kristy Robson, Charles Sturt University  “Addressing Falls Risk in Regional Australia: Do We Need to Rethink our Approach?”
4.  Dr Simone Dorsh, Australia Catholic University  “Stronger after Stroke”
5.  Dr Anna Scott, Southern Cross University  “Does Bleaching Mean that Nemo Cannot Find his Home?”
6.  Dr Alex Russell, CQUniversity  “Social Influences on Problem Gamblers”
7.  Dr Adina Piovesana, University of Southern Queensland  “Buddy Franklin Tackles a Car”

Group 2 Presentations – Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

8.   Dr Michele Lastella, CQUniversity “Are You Getting Enough? Sex as a Natural Hypnotic”
9.   Dr Glory Gatwiri, Southern Cross University  “Childbirth Injuries and Leaking Bodies: Stories from Kenyan Women”
10. Dr Taren Sanders, Australia Catholic University  “Square eyes or all lies? Understanding Children's Exposure to Screens”
11. Dr Fiona McLachlan, Victoria University   “Giving voice to the Silent Game”
12. Dr Kerryn Bent, University of Tasmania  “Understanding how International Law can Govern Negative Emissions”
13. Dr Sam Bowker, Charles Sturt University  “The bride of the sky: The Implication of the ‘Aruus’ for the Egyptian Tentmakers”
14. Dr Tracy Kolbe-Alexander, University of Southern Queensland  “A Hard Days Night: Moving Shift Workers towards Health”

5RP Judges

Professor Scott Bowman, Vice-Chancellor, CQUniversity
Professor Warren Payne, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Research and Research Training, Victoria University
Professor Barbara de la Harpe, Executive Dean Business, Education, Law and Arts, University of Southern Queensland
A/Professor Kevin Markwell, Associate Professor in Tourism Studies, Southern Cross University
Dr Julianne O’Reilly-Waspstra, Deputy Director, Researcher Development, University of Tasmania
Ms Irene Scott, Director of Communications, Tupaia Project

2017 CQUniversity Heat Winners

Group One: Dr Alex Russell, School of Health, Medical & Applied Sciences

Group Two: Dr Michele Lastella, School of Health, Medical & Applied Sciences

Further Information

Dr Lynette Browning
Executive Officer, Research Division
44 Greenhill Road Wayville SA 5034
T: 08 8378 4509

5MRP Guidelines