SEARCH WEBSITE

Townsville and North West Queensland Region Engagement Committee

Focus Areas

Prospective Students

  • Building recognition of Creative Arts program
  • Postgraduate opportunities - MBA Leadership, Mental Health, Forensics
  • Identifying professional development and short course opportunities
  • Future industries that support region.

Community Engagement

  • Increasing awareness of brand and reputation
  • Understanding regional priorities and future skills and employment needs to support
  • Building on relationship with Defence and Veteran community.

Social Innovation

  • Introduction of members to CQUniversity's social innovation plan and capabilities
  • Opportunities to engage with Smart Precinct Pty Ltd on social innovation projects.

International

  • Sister City Engagement
  • Engagement with Study Townsville and Edu tourism focus.

Research

  • Correctional services research expansion to other organisations
  • Development of resilience focused research.

Future Focus Areas

  • Development of Emergency Response and Innovation Centre (ERIC) - Fire and Police engagement
  • Development of programs that support emerging industries within the region - eg Industry 4.0
  • Increase collaborations with Defence - current personnel and transitioning (including Oasis Project)
  • Creative Arts opportunities
  • Research opportunities around resilience, correctional services, youth justice.

Members

Mr Mick Reilly (Chair)
Director, Business Analysis and Evaluation, MASSICK
mick@massick.com.au

Ms Kari Arbouin (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor (Townsville and North West Region), CQUniversity
k.arbouin@cqu.edu.au

Ms Paula Mandl (Secretary)
Campus Administration Officer, Townsville Campus, CQUniversity
p.mandl@cqu.edu.au

Mr David Lynch
Manager Economic Development, Townsville City Council
david.lynch@townsville.qld.gov.au

Mr Joel Buchholz
Principal, Pimlico State High; CQUniversity Council Member
jbuch54@eq.edu.au

Mr David Donohue
Managing Director, Queensland Corporate Communication Network
davidd@qccn.com.au

Mr Ross Contarino
Business Facilitator Australian Industry Group, AusIndustry Entrepreneur Development
Ross.Contarino@aigroup.com.au

Mr Maurie Soars
Councillor, Townsville City Council
maurie.soars@townsville.qld.gov.au

Prof Gracelyn Smallwood
Professor Nursing and Midwifery, School of Nursing, Midwifery & Social Sciences, CQUniversity
g.smallwood@cqu.edu.au

Assoc Prof Stephen Moston
Associate Professor Forensic Psychology, School of Health, Medical and Applied Sciences, CQUniversity
s.moston@cqu.edu.au

Dr Adele Baldwin
Senior Lecturer Nursing, School of Nursing, Midwifery & Social Sciences, CQUniversity
a.baldwin@cqu.edu.au

Prof Michelle Bellingnan
Dean, Health, Medical and Applied Sciences, CQUniversity
m.bellingnan@cqu.edu.au