Rockhampton Region Engagement Committee

The Rockhampton Region Engagement Committee (RREC) provides the strategic link between CQUniversity and the Rockhampton Region community, business, industry, and government sectors to help explore and address community issues and/or industry needs for the region.

Focus Areas

Active Engagement with High Schools

  • Raise profile of CQUniversity with secondary schools to help increase the number of school leaver enrolments within the Rockhampton Region.
  • Host annual AVC High School Dinner to encourage two-way engagement and information-sharing between CQUniversity and regional high schools.
  • Support CQUniversity high school competitions e.g. High School Cooking Competition.

Scholarships and Honorary Awardee Nominations

  • Foster relationships with current scholarship sponsors and explore potential sponsorship opportunities.
  • Nominate suitable candidates for CQUniversity Honorary Awards.

Loneliness Project

  • Identify strategies to respond to the 2016 Loneliness Community Forum.
  • Identify funding opportunities to support proposed activities including the Loneliness Survey and a pilot project with local general practitioners.
  • Produce a findings report as an outcome of the pilot project.

Centre of Excellence for Inclusive Education

  • Explore avenues for the proposed development of a Centre of Excellence for Inclusive Education to be located in Rockhampton.

CQUniversity Schools Engagement

  • Engage with Not-For-Profits to assist with student placements, internships, etc.
  • Utilise the individual networks of RREC members to support the engagement strategies of CQUniversity’s Schools.
  • Support 3D start-ups, entrepreneurship, and social innovation projects driven by CQUniversity’s discipline areas.

Research

  • Develop an in-depth understanding of engagement activity within the Research Division of CQUniversity to help promote two-way research opportunities.

Members

Kim Harrington (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor, Rockhampton Region – CQUni
avc-rockhampton@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Sara Barnbaum (Secretary)
Executive Assistant to the AVC, Rockhampton Region – CQUni
s.barnbaum@cqu.edu.au

Brett Bacon
Director – Community & Planning Services, Livingstone Shire Council
Brett.Bacon@livingstone.qld.gov.au

Blake Harvey
General Manager – Grid Planning & Optimisation, Energy Queensland Limited
blake.harvey@energyq.com.au

Neil Lethlean
Economic Development Manager – Capricorn Enterprise
neillethlean@capricornenterprise.com.au

Joe Ramsamy
Rockhampton Coordinator, Project Booyah – Queensland Police Service
Ramsay.JoeA@police.qld.gov.au

Robert Rooney
Principal – Swanwick Murray Roche Lawyers
rrooney@smrlaw.com.au

Patrice Brown
Director – CQG Consulting
p.brown@cqu.edu.au

Desley Cowley
Director – Spruiker Hire / Manager, Oak Tree Retirement Village - Rockhampton
vmnormangardens@oaktreegroup.com.au

Ewan Filmer
Coordinator – Capricorn Citizen Advocacy
efi20201@bigpond.net.au

Jason Pfingst
Director – Plan-itvisions / Lilly Pilly Organics / Relish Capricorn
jason@plan-itvisions.com.au

Justin Power
Director – Justin Power Management Services
Powerhouse1@bigpond.com

David Thompson
Program Manager, CQ Region – Department of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
David.Thompson@datsip.qld.gov.au

Bill Blayney
Dean, School of Education and The Arts – CQUni
b.blayney@cqu.edu.au

Fiona Coulson
Dean, School of Health, Medical and Applied Sciences – CQUni
f.coulson@cqu.edu.au

Lee Di Milia
Dean, School of Business and Law – CQUni
V.DiMilia@cqu.edu.au

Col Greensill
Dean, School of Engineering and Technology – CQUni
c.greensill@cqu.edu.au

Ian Devenish
Associate Dean, Engagement Co-op Program, School of Engineering and Technology – CQUni
i.devenish@cqu.edu.au 

Gerard Iliott
Lecturer, School of Business and Law – CQUni
g.ilott@cqu.edu.au

Justine Connor
Lecturer, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Sciences – CQUni
j.connor@cqu.edu.au 

Tamara Murray
Deputy Dean – VET, VET – Operations & Growth – CQUni
t.murray@cqu.edu.au