SEARCH WEBSITE

Rockhampton Region Engagement Committee

The Rockhampton Region Engagement Committee (RREC) provides the strategic link between CQUniversity and the Rockhampton Region community, business, industry, and government sectors to help explore and address community issues and/or industry needs for the region.

Focus Areas

Active Engagement with High Schools

Raise the profile of CQUniversity with secondary schools within the RREC region to;

  • Assist to increase the number of school leaver enrolments.
  • Identify and support emerging opportunities for micro credentialling with local high schools and industry.
  • Host annual AVP High School Dinner event for the purpose of profile building and two-way engagement in order to share University information and receive feedback from high schools which CQUniversity addresses.
  • Engage with industry and not-for-profits as required to assist faculties with student placements, internships etc.

This activity aligns with the ‘Our Students’ pillar of the 2019-2023 CQUniversity Strategic Plan.

CQUniversity Faculties Engagement

  • Continue building the RREC members’ current knowledge base of the faculty – Deans’ vision/operational plan in relation to the Rockhampton region.
  • Continue to be the corresponding link between community, business, industry, government and CQUniversity – possibility of community problems/issues and/or industry needs which could be addressed by the University.

This activity aligns with the ‘Our Communities’ pillar of the 2019-2023 CQUniversity Strategic Plan.

Scholarships and Honorary Awardee Nominations and Alumni

  • Maintain the established working relationship with the Advancement and Alumni Relations Directorate (AARD) and invite AARD representative to attend a committee meeting for further understanding and to source Honorary Award nominations.
  • Nominate suitable Honorary Awardees in accordance with the newly developed and approved RREC nominations process to supplement the official CQUniversity Honorary Award nomination.

This activity also aligns with the ‘Our Communities’ pillar of the 2019-2023 CQUniversity Strategic Plan.

Social Innovation Collaborative Partnership

  • To support the execution and implementation of the End Loneliness project as part of RREC’s commitment to social innovation.
  • Collate examples and opportunities of social innovation and social enterprise in our community.
  • Tangible actions, collaborations and linkages to enable social innovation. Provide linkage from industry to define real world innovation issues via the RREC networks to provide to the campus students/courses.

This activity once again aligns with the ‘Our Communities’ pillar of the 2019-2023 CQUniversity Strategic Plan.

Members

Mr Damon Morrison (Chair)
Executive Coordinator to the Mayor, Rockhampton Regional Council
damon.morrison@rrc.qld.gov.au

Mrs Kim Harrington (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-President (Rockhampton Region), CQUniversity
avc-rockhampton@cqu.edu.au

Ms Kaylee Taylor (Secretary)
Executive Assistant to the AVP (Rockhampton Region), CQUniversity
k.taylor1@cqu.edu.au

Mr Blake Harvey
General Manager Design & Delivery Standards
Energy Queensland Limited
blake.harvey@energyq.com.au

Ms Desley Cowley
Community Solutions Strategist
desley.cowley@gmail.com

Mr Ewan Filmer
Coordinator, Capricorn Citizen Advocacy
efi20201@bigpond.net.au

Mr Neil Lethlean
Economic Development Manager, Capricorn Enterprise
neillethlean@capricornenterprise.com.au

Mr Jason Pfingst
Director, Plan-itvisions
jason@plan-itvisions.com.au

Mr Justin Power
Director, Justin Power Management Services
powerhouse1@bigpond.com

Mr Joe Ramsay
Senior Constable & Rockhampton Coordinator, Project Booyah, Qld Police Service
Ramsay.JoeA@police.qld.gov.au

Mr Robert Rooney
Principal, Swanwick Murray Roche Lawyers
rrooney@smrlaw.com.au

Ms Kerrie-Anne Frakes
Executive Director Rockhampton Business Unit, CQHHS
kerrie-anne.frakes@health.qld.gov.au

Ms Laurie Rainbird
Community Coastal Hazards Resilience Officer, Livingstone Shire Council
laurie.rainbird@livingstone.qld.gov.au

Mr Gerard Ilott
Snr Lecturer/ HOC, School of Business and Law, CQUniversity
g.ilott@cqu.edu.au

Dr Lisa Wirihana
Senior Lecturer Nursing, School of Nursing, Midwifery & Social Sciences, CQUniversity
lisa.wirihana@cqu.edu.au

Mr Corey Bloomfield (proxy)
Lecturer / HOC, School of Education and The Arts, CQUniversity
c.bloomfield@cqu.edu.au

Ms Patrice Brown
Director, CQG Consulting, CQUniversity Council Member
p.brown@cqu.edu.au

Ms Shelia Houston
Director, Cross Cultural Encounters, CQUniversity Council Member
s.houston@cqu.edu.au

Professor Steven Moore
Deputy Dean – Research /Professor, School of Engineering and Technology
s.moore@cqu.edu.au

Associate Professor Michele Wolfe
Deputy Dean – Learning & Teaching, School of Health, Medical & Applied Sciences
m.wolfe@cqu.edu.au

Indigenous Representative
Position Vacant