Mackay-Whitsunday Region Engagement Committee

Focus Areas

Sports Precinct

  • Construction imminent of Stages 1a and 1b – aquatic centre and athletics track
  • EoI collaboration for Solar Project at Mackay Regional Council (MRC)
  • Sports Academy of Excellence partnership with Harrup Park and MRC

Alumni

  • Focus articles on local alumni for CQUni’s BE Magazine
  • Resource Industry Network (RIN) partnership opportunities
  • Improve connectivity with CQUni’s Development and Alumni Relations Directorate (DARD)
  • Sharing local CQUni newsletter with Alumni – to also feature Alumni stories local to Region
  • Role model opportunities

Health

  • Mackay Hospital and Health Services (MHHS) Obesity and Diabetes Collaborative Project (CQUni participation in Strategy & Research categories)
  • TEDMED conference
  • Mackay Institute of Research and Innovation (MIRI) - increasing CQUni’s involvement with this Research Centre

Engineering

  • RIN – 3 year partnership agreement on collaboration
  • Assistive Devices Hackathon
  • Pepper (robot) and MHHS Research project to minimise stress/anxiety for paediatric patients
  • Learning Excellence at Pioneer (LEAP) High School project

Split Spaces

  • Partnership around ARIP funding

Future Focus Areas

Sports Precinct

  • Opportunities to engage with and increase interest from sporting groups
  • Community Sport and Health Institute (vacating fire station at City Campus)
  • Alternative energy sources (solar)

Engineering

  • RIN – 3 year partnership agreement on collaboration
  • Assistive Devices Hackathon
  • Pepper (robot) and MHHS Research project to minimise stress/anxiety for paediatric patients
  • Learning Excellence at Pioneer (LEAP) High School project

Health

  • MHHS Obesity and Diabetes Collaborative Project (CQUni participation in Strategy & Research categories)

Multi-focus Projects

  • Social Innovation Incubator – Family and Domestic Violence
  • Schools project – build regional profile

Members

Mr Allan Ruming (Chair)
Managing Director – GROUP Engineering
ARuming@groupengineering.com.au

Prof Pierre Viljoen (Deputy Chair)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Engagement, Campuses and Mackay-Whitsunday Region) – CQUni
p.viljoen@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Tam Kiln (Secretary)
EA and Business Support Officer – CQUni
t.kiln@cqu.edu.au

Ms Julie Boyd
Company Director/Practice Manager – Specialist Medical Practice
julie.boyd18@icloud.com

Ms Jo Whitehead
Chief Executive – Mackay Hospital and Health Service
Jo.Whitehead@health.qld.gov.au

Ms Denise Neville
Casual Teacher
denise@m130.aone.net.au

Mr Jordan Miller
Principal – We Speak Property

Ms Meredith Papavasiliou
Director – iScribe Consulting
meredithpapas@iscribeconsulting.com.au

Mr Gerard Carlyon
Director, Development Services – Mackay Regional Council
Gerard.carlyon@mackay.qld.gov.au

Mr Stephen Paulger
Principal, Mackay State High School

Prof Judith Brown
Director – Conservatorium of Music / Head of Program Theatre – CQUni
J.Brown@cqu.edu.au

Ms Leeanne Heaton
Head of Program (Bachelor of Nursing) – CQUni
l.heaton@cqu.edu.au

Ms Leanne Williams
Campus Coordinator, Ooralea Campus – CQUni
l.c.williams@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Cynthia Simpson
Campus Coordinator, City Campus – CQUni
c.simpson@cqu.edu.au

Prof Faris Albermani
Campus Lead, Civil Engineering – CQUni
f.albermani@cqu.edu.au

Mr Russell Gardner
Qualifications Coordinator/Lead Vocational Teacher, Fitness – CQUni
r.gardner2@cqu.edu.au

Mr Bruce Young
University Council Member – CQUni
b.young@cqu.edu.au