Mackay-Whitsunday Region Engagement Committee

Focus Areas

Sports Precinct

  • Construction of Stages 1a and 1b progressing well – aquatic centre and athletics track

Alumni

  • Resource Industry Network (RIN) partnership opportunities
  • Improve connectivity with CQUni’s Development and Alumni Relations Directorate (DARD)
  • Sharing local CQUni newsletter with Alumni – to also feature Alumni stories local to region
  • Role model opportunities

Health

  • Mackay Hospital and Health Services (MHHS) Obesity and Diabetes Collaborative Project (CQUni participation in Strategy & Research categories)
  • Mackay Institute of Research and Innovation (MIRI) - increasing CQUni’s involvement with this Research Centre

Engineering

  • RIN – 3 year partnership agreement on collaboration
  • Pepper (robot) and MHHS Research project to minimise stress/anxiety for paediatric patients
  • Learning Excellence at Pioneer (LEAP) High School project
  • Qantas Pilot School for Mackay

Split Spaces

  • Partnership around ARIP funding

International Study Cluster

  • New project establishing a study cluster in the Mackay Whitsunday Region to attract international students to the region

Multi-focus projects

  • Schools project – build regional profile

Future Focus Areas

Sports Precinct

  • Opportunities to engage with and increase interest from sporting groups
  • Phases 2-4

Engineering

  • RIN – 3 year partnership agreement on collaboration
  • Pepper (robot) and MHHS Research project to minimise stress/anxiety for paediatric patients
  • Learning Excellence at Pioneer (LEAP) High School project
  • F1 in Schools project
  • Drones

Health

  • MHHS Obesity and Diabetes Collaborative Project (CQUni participation in Strategy & Research categories)

Multi-focus projects

  • Expansion of facilities for School of Medical and Applied Sciences

Members

Ms Bridget Mather (Chair)
Director, Community and Client Services, Mackay Regional Council
bridget.mather@mackay.qld.gov.au

Prof Pierre Viljoen (Deputy Chair)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Engagement, Campuses and Mackay-Whitsunday Region), CQUniversity
p.viljoen@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Tam Kiln (Secretary)
Executive Assistant and Business Support Officer, CQUniversity
t.kiln@cqu.edu.au

Mr Stephen Paulger
Principal, Mackay State High School
spaul16@eq.edu.au

Ms Jo Whitehead
Chief Executive, Mackay Hospital and Health Service
Jo.Whitehead@health.qld.gov.au

Mr Philip Kemp
Elder
pp_kemp@yahoo.com

Mr Garry Scanlan
CEO, Greater Whitsunday Alliance (GW3)
garry@gw3.com.au

Dr Steven Austen
Business Manager, Whitsunday Anglican School
BusinessManager@was.qld.gov.au

Mr Bruce Young
CQUniversity Council Member
b.young@cqu.edu.au

Prof Judith Brown AM
Director, Conservatorium of Music / Head of Program Theatre, CQUniversity
J.Brown@cqu.edu.au

Ms Leeanne Heaton
Head of Program Bachelor of Nursing, CQUniversity
l.heaton@cqu.edu.au

Vacant
Campus Lead - Engineering, CQUniversity

Mr Russell Gardner
Qualifications Coordinator/Lead Vocational Teacher Fitness, CQUniversity
r.gardner2@cqu.edu.au

Ms Leanne Williams
Campus Coordinator Ooralea Campus, CQUniversity
l.c.williams@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Cynthia Simpson
Campus Coordinator City Campus, CQUniversity
c.simpson@cqu.edu.au