Gladstone Region Engagement Committee

Focus Areas

Trades Training / Campus unification

  • Ongoing industry consultation – training needs
  • Community advocacy – ensuring an accurate and positive message is shared in the community through various networks
  • Direct change management advice and mentoring support

Youth / School leaver awareness

  • Participate in school visits
  • Promotion (to parents) through business newsletters, rotary presentations etc.
  • School leaver and alumni working group

Health

  • Advocacy (especially re government funding)
  • Working group to be established
  • Community needs analysis round table

STEM and Agriculture

  • Implementation of STEM Hub
  • Engagement in Banana-shire

Marine Environment

  • Advocacy (especially re industry and government funding)
  • Working group to be established
  • Industry needs analysis
  • Coastal & Marine Ecosystem Research Centre (CMERC)

Future Focus Areas

Business and Alumni

  • Focus on increased engagement
  • Mail campaign - future members, focus group members

Region Partnership and outreach

  • Further joint meetings and projects with Wide Bay REC
  • Engagement in Banana Shire through meeting within the region

Indigenous Engagement

  • Maintain and develop current partnerships
  • Strategic focus on increased Indigenous participation

Members

Ms Ryl Gardner (Chair)
Company Director and Management Consultant, Derridale
ryl.gardner@derridale.com.au

Prof Owen Nevin (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor (Gladstone Region), CQUniversity
o.nevin@cqu.edu.au

Ms Tracy Buchanan (Secretary)
Campus Administration Officer, CQUniversity
t.buchanan@cqu.edu.au

Mr Peter Corones
CQUniversity Council Member

Ms Joanne Glover
Executive Director Operations, Qld Health Gladstone and Banana Clinical Network
Joanne.Glover@health.qld.gov.au

Mr Patrick Hastings
Chief Executive Officer, Gladstone Industry Leadership Group (GILG)
patrick.hastings@gilg.com.au

Mr Neville Hughes
Managing Director, GTC Financial
financialneville.hughes@gtcfin.com.au

Mr Richard Johnson
Local Elder
ricardojohnno@gmail.com

Mr Mark Winters
Travel Manager, Departure Point
mark@departurepoint.com.au

Dr Emma Jackson
Research Fellow / RCL, CQUniversity
emma.jackson@cqu.edu.au

Dr Linda Pfeiffer
Senior Lecturer Education, CQUniversity
l.pfeiffer@cqu.edu.au 

Ms Alison Murdoch 
Senior Campus Administrator, Gladstone Marina Campus,  CQUniversity
a.murdoch@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Karin Simon
Campus Library Manager, Gladstone Marina Campus, CQUniversity
k.simon@cqu.edu.au