Gladstone Region Engagement Committee

Focus Areas

Trades Training

  • Industry consultation – training needs
  • Community consultation – training needs
  • Community Advocacy – ensuring an accurate and positive message is shared in the community through various networks

Campus Unification

  • Community Advocacy – ensuring an accurate and positive message is shared in the community through various networks
  • Direct change management advice and mentoring support

School leaver awareness

  • Participate in school visits
  • Promotion (to parents) through business newsletters, rotary presentations etc.
  • School leaver and alumni working group

Future Focus Areas

Health Precinct

  • Advocacy (especially re government funding)
  • Working group to be established
  • Community needs analysis roundtable

Marine Environment

  • Advocacy (especially re industry and government funding)
  • Working group to be established
  • Industry needs analysis

STEM and Agriculture

  • Implementation of STEM Hub
  • Engagement in Banana-shire

Members

Ms Ryl Gardner (Chair)
Company Director - Management Consultant, Derridale
ryl.gardner@derridale.com.au

Professor Owen Nevin (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor Gladstone Region, CQUniversity
o.nevin@cqu.edu.au

Mrs Alison Murdoch (Secretary)
Senior Campus Administrator, Gladstone Region, CQUniversity
a.murdoch@cqu.edu.au

Cr Maxine Brushe
Community Member, Previous Councillor
mbrushe@bigpond.net.au

Mr Patrick Hastings
Chief Executive Officer - Gladstone Industry Leadership Group (GILG)
patrick.hastings@gilg.com.au

Mr Neville Hughes
Managing Director - GTC Financial
neville.hughes@gtcfin.com.au

Mr Richard Johnson
Local Elder
ricardojohnno@gmail.com

Mrs Karin Simon
Library Manager, Gladstone CQUniversity
k.simon@cqu.edu.au

Cr P J Sobhanian
Councillor – Gladstone Regional Council
pjsobhanian@gladstone.qld.gov.au

Mr Mark
WintersTravel Manager – Departure Point
mark@departurepoint.com.au