Cairns and Far North Queensland Region Engagement Committee


Cairns Community Impact Plan

  • First Nations Think Tank
  • Performing Arts precinct
  • Aviation Hub.

International Development

  • Identification of partnership opportunities/advice
  • Trade mission support.


  • Provide advice and support for initiatives to grow enrolments and enhance student experience (i.e. through improved work integrated learning offerings)
  • Identify and provide input into key Campus growth strategies including physical space and expansion opportunities
  • Identify community, business and not-for-profit partnerships and collaborations to enhance the Campus' engagement in the region.


Work Integrated Learning

  • Identification of internal gaps and provide expert local knowledge on enhancement opportunities
  • Support the AVC with identifying and developing partnerships to improve work integrated learning thus enhancing the student experience
  • Provide technical support in strategic industry growth areas that align with the Campus' current and future offering.

Program Growth

  • Advice/links re Film and Television
  • Advice/links re Agriculture
  • Advice/links re Allied health.


  • Engage with Alumni Advisory Group to gain a deeper understanding of student experience and enhancement opportunities
  • Support and participate in the Campus' Mentoring program
  • Improve overall alumni outreach in the region.

Partnership Opportunities

  • Allied Health Precinct
  • Agriculture Innovation Precinct.


Ross Steele (Chair)
General Manager, Cairns Convention Centre

Jodie Duignan-George (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor (Cairns & FNQ Region), CQUniversity

Leah McBride (Secretary)
Senior Campus Administrator, Cairns Campus, CQUniversity

Kelly Reaston
General Manager Planning and Environment, Cairns Regional Council

Gary Aylward
General Manager, Paykel Advertising

Carol Doyle
President, Study Cairns

Brett Moller
Councillor, Cairns Regional Council

Peter Lenoy
Executive Officer, Umi Arts

Ross Moller
Principal, LJ Hooker Cairns Edge Hill

Mark Peters
Principal, Peters Bosel Lawyers; CQUniversity Council Member

Nathan Lee Long
Senior Project Manager, Liveable & Sustainable Regions, Qld Transport & Resources 

Paul Gadek
Consultant, Gadek Consultant Services

Tara Diversi
Entrepreneurship Facilitator, Cairns Young Entrepreneurs Project

Peter Boyd
Manager Strategic Planning and Approvals, Cairns Regional Council

Bill Davidson
CEO, Worklink Group