SEARCH WEBSITE

Cairns and Far North Queensland Region Engagement Committee

Focus Areas

Cairns Community Impact Plan

  • First Nations Think Tank
  • Performing Arts precinct
  • Aviation Hub.

International Development

  • Identification of partnership opportunities/advice
  • Trade mission support.

Growth

  • Provide advice and support for initiatives to grow enrolments and enhance student experience (i.e. through improved work integrated learning offerings)
  • Identify and provide input into key Campus growth strategies including physical space and expansion opportunities
  • Identify community, business and not-for-profit partnerships and collaborations to enhance the Campus' engagement in the region.

Future Focus Areas

Work Integrated Learning

  • Identification of internal gaps and provide expert local knowledge on enhancement opportunities
  • Support the AVC with identifying and developing partnerships to improve work integrated learning thus enhancing the student experience
  • Provide technical support in strategic industry growth areas that align with the Campus' current and future offering.

Program Growth

  • Advice/links re Film and Television
  • Advice/links re Agriculture
  • Advice/links re Allied health.

Alumni

  • Engage with Alumni Advisory Group to gain a deeper understanding of student experience and enhancement opportunities
  • Support and participate in the Campus' Mentoring program
  • Improve overall alumni outreach in the region.

Partnership Opportunities

  • Allied Health Precinct
  • Agriculture Innovation Precinct.

Members

Mr Brett Moller (Chair)
Councillor, Cairns Regional Council
b.moller@cairns.qld.gov.au

Ms Jodie Duignan-George (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor (Cairns & FNQ Region), CQUniversity
j.duignan-george@cqu.edu.au

Ms Leah McBride (Secretary)
Senior Campus Administrator, Cairns Campus, CQUniversity
l.mcbride@cqu.edu.au

Mr Gary Aylward
General Manager, Paykel Advertising
gary@paykel.com.au

Ms Carol Doyle
President, Study Cairns
caroldoyle@youstudy.edu.au

Mr Peter Lenoy
Executive Officer, Umi Arts
eo@umiarts.com.au

Mr Ross Moller
Principal, LJ Hooker Cairns Edge Hill
rossm@ljheh.com.au

Mr Mark Peters
Principal, Peters Bosel Lawyers; CQUniversity Council Member
mark@petersbosel.com.au

Mr Nathan Lee Long
Senior Project Manager, Liveable & Sustainable Regions, Qld Transport & Resources
Nathan.Lee-Long@arup.com

Prof Paul Gadek
Consultant, Gadek Consultant Services
gadek.paul@gmail.com

Ms Tara Diversi
Entrepreneurship Facilitator, Cairns Young Entrepreneurs Project
Tara.Diversi@yepcairns.com

Mr Bill Davidson
CEO, Worklink Group
bill.davidson@worklinkgroup.org.au