Cairns and Far North Queensland Region Engagement Committee

FOCUS AREAS

Cairns Community Impact Plan

  • First Nations Think Tank
  • Performing Arts precinct
  • Aviation Hub

International development

  • Identification of partnership opportunities/advice
  • Trade mission support

Growth

  • Provide advice and support for initiatives to grow enrolments and enhance student experience (i.e. through improved work integrated learning offerings)
  • Identify and provide input into key Campus growth strategies including physical space and expansion opportunities
  • Identify community, business and not-for-profit partnerships and collaborations to enhance the Campus' engagement in the region

FUTURE FOCUS AREAS

Work integrated learning

  • Identification of internal gaps and provide expert local knowledge on enhancement opportunities
  • Support the AVC with identifying and developing partnerships to improve WIL thus enhancing the student experience
  • Provide technical support in strategic industry growth areas that align with the Campus' current and future offering

Program growth

  • Advice/links re: Film and Television
  • Advice/links re: Agriculture
  • Advice/links re: Allied health

Alumni

  • Engage with Alumni Advisory Group to gain deeper understanding of student experience and enhancement opportunities
  • Support and participate in the Campus' Mentoring program
  • Improve overall alumni outreach in the region

Partnership opportunities

  • Allied Health Precinct
  • Agriculture Innovation Precinct

MEMBERS

Ross Steele (Chair)
General Manager, Cairns Convention Centre
rsteele@cairnsconvention.com.au

Jodie Duignan-George (Deputy Chair)
Associate Vice-Chancellor (Cairns & FNQ Region), CQUniversity
j.duignan-george@cqu.edu.au

Leah McBride (Secretary)
Senior Campus Administrator, Cairns Campus, CQUniversity
l.mcbride@cqu.edu.au

Kelly Reaston
General Manager Planning and Environment, Cairns Regional Council
l.mcbride@cqu.edu.au

Gary Aylward
General Manager, Paykel Advertising
gary@paykel.com.au

Carol Doyle
President, Study Cairns
caroldoyle@youstudy.edu.au

Brett Moller
Councillor, Cairns Regional Council
b.moller@cairns.qld.gov.au

Peter Lenoy
Executive Officer, Umi Arts
eo@umiarts.com.au

Ross Moller
Principal, LJ Hooker Cairns Edge Hill
rossm@ljheh.com.au

Mark Peters
Principal, Peters Bosel Lawyers; CQUniversity Council Member
mark@petersbosel.com.au

Nathan Lee Long
Senior Project Manager, Liveable & Sustainable Regions, Qld Transport & Resources
Nathan.Lee-Long@arup.com 

Paul Gadek
Consultant, Gadek Consultant Services
gadek.paul@gmail.com

Tara Diversi
Entrepreneurship Facilitator, Cairns Young Entrepreneurs Project
Tara.Diversi@yepcairns.com

Peter Boyd
Manager Strategic Planning and Approvals, Cairns Regional Council
p.boyd@cairns.qld.gov.au

Bill Davidson
CEO, Worklink Group
bill.davidson@worklinkgroup.org.au