Secondary navigation

CPD17 - The National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards


At a glance

Gain an understanding of the ten national standards and outline the relevance to health professionals through the completion of this free short course.

Study Mode Online
Intake Dates Year Round

Hours of study

This is a one hour course completed online.

Professional Recognition

Upon successful completion of this course, you will be awarded one CPD hour.


Course Summary

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the commission) was created by Health Ministers in 2006 and funded by all governments on a cost sharing basis to lead and coordinate health care safety and quality movements in Australia.

The Commission developed the Standards following extensive public and stakeholder consultation and address the following areas:

  • governance for safety and quality in health service organisations
  • partnering with consumers
  • preventing and controlling healthcare associated infections
  • medication safety
  • patient identification and procedure matching
  • clinical handover
  • blood and blood products
  • preventing and managing pressure injuries
  • recognising and responding to clinical deterioration in acute health care
  • preventing falls and harm from falls.

During this course you will:

  • identify each of the 10 Standards of the National Safety and Quality Health Service
  • develop an understanding of the relevance to nursing practice
  • recognise that the standards were developed to protect consumers, the workforce and organisations through best evidence based practice.

Entry Requirements

There are no entry requirements for this course.

Resources Required

There are no resources required for this course.


There are no prerequisites for completion of this course.

Program Structure

You will be required to complete the self-directed online course with quiz.

How to Apply


To enrol in this short course, please visit and register your attendance at