School of Access Education

Associate Dean of the School of Access Education Karen Seary
Karen Seary

The School of Access Education (SAE) is dispersed across Australia, including staff across 11 campuses, online study options and services delivered in partnership arrangement with Geraldton Universities Centre and Pilbara Universities Centre in Western Australia.

The School has a strong commitment to social justice and the provision of opportunities that foster greater social inclusion in Higher Education. It has been built a strong reputation for encouraging and supporting CQUniversity students to achieve their educational goals.
The School provides pathway courses for prospective students to access award courses and provides academic learning support services to VET, undergraduate and postgraduate coursework students seeking assistance.

The School comprises the following three areas:

  1. Skills for Tertiary Education Preparatory Studies (STEPS) enabling course
  2. Academic Learning Centre services (Academic Communication, Computing, Mathematics and Statistics, and Science).
  3. Language Literacy and Numeracy support (VET).

Through these services, the School of Access Education inspires students to ‘take the next step’ at whatever stage of their learning journey that may be.

Karen Seary,
Associate Dean, School of Access Education