Breadcrumb Links:

CQUniversity Council Membership

The University Council must, in all matters, endeavour to advance the interests and aspirations of CQUniversity.

Council has 15 members, is chaired by the Chancellor and advised by its standing committees.

The current Council was constituted on 27 May 2010.  Council meetings are held on a bi-monthly basis.

Official Members

Chair - Chancellor  (7 March 2008 to 6 March 2016)

Mr Rennie Fritschy, BEng(Chem) Sydney, BEc WAust, FIEAust, FAICD

Vice-Chancellor and President (1 August 2009 to 1 August 2019)

Professor Scott Bowman, TDCR, DCR, HDCR CollRadiog, FAETC City&Guilds, MA GuildHall, MBA USC, PhD OpenUK, FAIM, FQAAS

President of Academic Board (1 February 2013 to 31 December 2015)

Professor Bronwyn Fredericks, DipTeach(Sec) BCAE, BEd, MEd QUT, MEdStudies UTas, PhD CQU

Appointed Members

Members appointed by the Governor-in-Council (27 May 2010 to 26 May 2014)

Mr John Anderson,    AssocDipCivEng DDIAE, BA USQ, GradCertSocSc Qld, MAICD

Ms Sandra Collins,    BEng(Mining) Qld, MBA Pennsylvania, GAICD

Dr Robyn Minchinton, BAppSc(MLS) RMIT, GradDipScComm CQU, PhD London (8 December 2011 to 26 May 2014)

Mr Charles Ware,  BA, LLB(Hons) Qld, MBus(PubMgt), LLM QUT, FAICD (Deputy Chancellor)

Ms Mary Carroll (7 March 2013 to 26 May 2014)

Additional Members

Additional members appointed by Council (up to 4 years)

Mr Graham Carpenter, GradDipMgt CIAE, MBA CQU, FCA, FAICD  (25 May 2012 to 24 May 2016)

Mr Peter Corones AM,  (12 July 2010 to 11 July 2014)

Mr Tim Griffin OAM, BEng(Civil), MBA CQU, FAICD, FCILT (UK) (12 July 2010 to 11 July 2014)


Elected Members

One elected member of the academic staff (4 years) (12 May 2010 to 11 May 2014)

Dr John Fitzsimmons, BA(Hons), PhD Adel, GradCertOnlineLearn ECU

One elected member of the professional staff (4 years) (28 August 2013 to 27 August 2017)

Mr Ken Diefenbach, BAppSc(Comp) QUT

One elected member of the student body (2 years) (15 May 2013 to 14 May 2015)

Mr David Harris BBus(Mktg), GradDipMgt, MMgmt(Mktg) CQU, AMAMI, AIMM

Secretary to Council

University Secretary

Ms Jenny Roberts
Phone: 07 4930 6903
Fax: 07 4936 1691

Minutes Secretary

Ms Kylie White
Phone: 07 4923 2551
Fax: 07 4930 6939

Council agreed at its meeting on 10 September 2004 that the maximum period for a member's service on the Council will normally be twelve years.